An initiative of the Dekko Foundation


Tips & tricks for parents to make the most out of every moment.

Hi Everyone!

We’re glad you’re joining us as we study the book, The 5 Love Languages of Children, by Gary Chapman and Ross Campbell. In this blog we will be talking about why having a full emotional tank is so important for helping to keep emotions in check and, if you don’t know your dominate love language (or your child’s), how you can find out.



 I’m glad you’re joining us, as we continue to have conversations from Dr. Gary Chapman and Ross Campbell’s book, The 5 Love Languages of Children. Words of affirmation have a powerful impact on children not only at the time they are said, but later, too. Has something someone said to you as a child stayed with you even today? I heard often as a child when trying something new, “sure you can do it” and even to this day, those words are part of my internal dialogue when weighing doing something for the first time. These authors perfectly articulate “their words” in telling readers why words are so important when talking to children. Here is what Dr. Chapman and Ross Campbell say about words used with children, “In communicating love, words are powerful. Words of affection and endearment, words of praise and encouragement, words that give positive guidance all say, “I care about you.” Such words are like a gentle, warm rain falling on the soul; they nurture the child’s inner sense of worth and security.  Even though such words are quickly said, they are not forgotten. A child reaps the benefits of affirming words for a lifetime.  Conversely, cutting words, spoken our short-lived frustration, can hurt a child’s self-esteem, and cast doubts about his abilities. Children think we deeply believe what we say." 

Hi Everyone! We’re so glad you’ve joined us as we dive into Gary Chapman’s and Ross Campbell’s Love Language #3 from their book, The 5 Love Languages of Children.

Early into this chapter, the authors pinpoint the main concept for their 3rd Love Language, quality time. “Quality time is a parent’s gift of presence to a child. It conveys this message: You are important. I like being with you. Quality time is focused, undivided attention.” 

I think it is hugely helpful when Chapman and Campbell are specific about how parents need to shift and adjust their quality time actions to meet the changing needs of their physically and emotionally developing child. 

Page 7 of 12


 At Before5, we are passionate about helping you understand how your child grows and develops – especially in the first five years, which is when the really important learning happens.

An initiative of the Dekko Foundation

©2019 Before5 Developed by Carpenter Web & Design